How to configure Security: Record Owner

Being the Record Owner gives you some special privileges, even if your OWDs are set to “Private.” The User that is the Record Owner typically should be able to Edit, View, Delete and Transfer ownership of the record.

Sharing Button Record Owner

What might limit the aforementioned is the security for that object based on the Profile assigned to that User.  For example in the screenshot below, we removed the “Delete” permission for Leads at the Profile level. When we login as a User with that Profile, we see that we have lost the Delete Button.

Removed Delete from Leads in Profile

Removed Delete from Leads in Profile

Delete Button Removed From Leads

Delete Button Removed From Leads

What fields you can edit will also be determined by the Page Layout and Field Level Security for that object on the User’s profile.

Lastly the ability to “Transfer” a record can also be controlled on a User’s Profile. Under the “General User Permissions” section of the Profile page you’ll see the options to activate “Transfer Leads” and “Transfer Cases.”

Next up, Folder security

Back to sharing with Account Teams

This entry was posted in Administration. Bookmark the permalink.